The most wonderful thing about…

Funny that the most wonderful thing about Tiggers (being that he’s the only one) is the opposite of the most wonderful thing about photographers. Not only is just about everyone a potential photographer, finding someone who’s equally as interested in it as yourself is usually not that difficult! As it is I have multiple “shooting partners” some here, some there. I love shooting with other people, it helps expand your own creativity, giving you someone to bounce idea’s off of and vice versa. Working with Ryan has taught me a lot new, and re taught me a lot i had forgotten. One of the things I’ve discovered most recently getting myself back in to my happy shooting place is that the digital age has not helped me in the least. I consider myself more of a nature and art photographer more than an action sports photographer, and while i love my D100 for what it is it’s not the best tool for how i like to shoot. No matter how adept i am with this bulky beast it has never just “gotten out of the way” to let me take the pictures i see. On the exact opposite side of that, my old Olympus OM-1 does nothing but get out of the way. Even when shooting cheap fuji 200 and 400 speed film from the Wal-Mart, I’m happier with the activity, and the results.

Olympus OM-1: Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with Fujifilm 200iso
                Olympus OM-1:                                              Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with Fujifilm 200iso

The OM-1  gets out of my way every time, what I see is what I capture and that is the most important thing for me. Mind you me, this does not mean I wind up with amazing images every time. What i see is certainly not always “art”, and I certainly take fewer images on film than i do when i’m shooting digital (things don’t always look as interesting when you’re paying per frame) but i’m happier with a higher percentage of the images i see.

Olympus OM-1:  Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with Fujifilm 400iso
                   Olympus OM-1:
Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with Fujifilm 400iso

These images even being on negative film give me a warmer, happier feeling than almost any image I capture on a digital system. For those of you who are “Number Buffs” and are wanting the shutter speed and aperture i shot these at, i unfortunately don’t remember as these were off the cuff candid shots and i wasn’t detailing them.

Olympus OM-1:  Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with Fujifilm 200iso
                    Olympus OM-1:
Zuiko 50mm f1.8 with Fujifilm 200iso

Now that i’ve done my doting on film, i plan to do most of my shooting going forward in a film medium so you can expect to be seeing a lot of it on here! As i’ve said before, I’m an Olympus film camera fanatic! I currently have two OM-1 bodies that i use with a handful of lenses, the 50mm f1.8 being my standard use lens. All the images from the OM-1 posted here are scanned via the local walgreens at an unimpressive quality of scan, a problem which i hope to remedy soon by acquiring my own film scanner (if you have any suggestions please tell me below).

All of this being said, i do still love my digital system for certain applications, namely anything in which i feel i’m going to be taking a LOT of images a portion of which might be… questionably good. For instance, a studio!

Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8: Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s
Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8:
Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s

As i was saying, the most wonderful thing about photographers is finding another one like you! This is my shooting partner, (my profile picture is an image of myself shot by him with the same studio set up) helping me “test” the light set before our models jumped in… I’m sorry i couldn’t help the pun.

Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8: Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s
Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8:
Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s

For images like this, there’s nothing better than the instant feedback and near unlimited amount of images I can get out of my digital system.

Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8: Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s
Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8:
Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s

Dancers jumping is hard, i know this sounds kind of silly but catching the exact moment where they have everything where you and they are happy with the outcome is just plain hard. But the results are spectacular.

Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8: Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s
Nikon D100 W/Sigma 50mm F2.8:
Shot @ ISO400 F8, 1/160s

It’s always funny that some of your favorite images aren’t what you were trying to capture, but more from the entertainment that fills the gaps between frames. As i’ve said, i will certainly be photographing with all the gear available to me as long as it’s the correct tool for the correct application! I hope you’ve enjoyed! And thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

